Tribal Fest 8

Last Sunday I went to Tribal Fest 8 in Sebastopol.

 

I was pretty excited since a lot of superstars would be performing there, among them my sewing teacher, Kamille Hitz of Rockabelly. I also had the opportunity to finally take a workshop with Lori Tawasha of Evil Eye Bellydance, that I wanted since seeing her performing at the How Berkeley Can You Be? Festival last year.

 

I wish I could have gone more than only one day… Why did it have to happen the same week as my finals? Maybe if I didn’t leave everything ‘til the last week I would not be complaining. Oh well…

 

The workshop was nice. I learned a new pattern of zylls for the back walk figure 8, one of my favorite moves. And the Persian walk (or it was Persian Cat walk?), which is really confusing for me. Instead of V’s and A’s my feet always want to do whatever they want. And I was introduced to maybe the main character of tribal performance, as with Argentine Tango, is all about improvisation. That led me to think why I enjoy so much the dances I am studying now. I love freedom! No rules! Spontaneous creativity.

 

Kamille’s performance was pretty cute. She wore jeans, leather and even an AFRO! and danced to Queen’s “We will rock you”. So much fun! And she looked great too. (You can click to enlarge the pictures)

 

 

Rachel Brice was there too. OMG! I couldn’t help but watch her performance in a jaw dropping state. I can see now why she is Rachel f**king awesome Brice. Is she human? Are you sure? Wow… So now, while you see the pictures, you need to put your arms up. Move them up and down. Up and Down.

 

 

 Continue doing so while you see Ariellah pictures… You can drop your jaw too. 

After seeing these beautiful women, you just want to go and take as many classes as you can. And dance, dance, dance. So inspiring… So beautiful… So A-W-E-S-O-M-E!

You also want to go and buy a serger and sew a lot of stuff. Especially funky pants.

 

I got a henna tattoo too.

 

 

Ok, I think I am going to go buy that serger now.

 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Tribal Fest 8”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Hey Vanina!

    Welcome to blog land 🙂

    That event looks like it was great!

  2. barbe Says:

    wow! I don’t know any of these women, I’ve been out of dancing for so long. I’m sure you had a great time there though!

    When I was doing it, I took classes from Sussanah Del Vecchio, and Leila Gamal, and Bert Balladine-that was almost 20 yrs ago..YIKES!

    been meaning to email you for ages about gettting together!

Leave a Reply

