Shoebox Studio Student Showcase

Last Friday, 08-08-08, I performed at the Shoebox Studio Student Showcase at the Garage Art Space. It was my first bellydance performance in a theater! I was really excited to have the opportunity to share the stage with some great Bay Area performers. We couldn’t use the flash during performances so most of the pictures are dark, sorry.
Natsumi Suzuki and Nanna Candelaria (click to enlarge)

The Bellydance Mafia (Shoebox Studio Troupe) and UNMATA

Damage Control Theater and the Funk Fusion class

We danced a routine called Platinum Digger, choreographed by our teacher Gibson Pearl. The music was a very rare and hard to find mix of an M.I.A. song by DJ Diplo, called China Girl (that sampled Sweet Dreams by the Eurythmics). It is a powerful song, and our routine was too. Super fast! Gibson put together a wonderful routine for us.
I was a little nervous when I got there, but I relaxed by talking with the other dancers and watching them get ready for their performances. I was ready in no time! I realized my dreads are pretty and colorful by themselves, so I didn’t have to work on that. I wrapped them into buns on each side of my face, a resemblance of Princess Leah’s hair style from Star Wars ; ) It was pretty cute, even if I do say myself.

Our outfits turned out really nice too. We did our own shirts and printed a lotus on the back with a stencil and spray paint.

Me dancing

Gibson Pearl’s class

Michael and lots of my friends where there to show me their support. It was great to see them all. Dancing makes me happier and happier every time I perform. I can’t wait to start City College again this Fall.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Shoebox Studio Student Showcase”

  1. andrea Says:

    omg how fun! the combination of the music and dancing and energy of the other dancers must have been contagious – what a great time! dancing can be such wonderful therapy and a space to get away from it all (not to mention a crazy ass work out)!

    love the buns – we need more ethnic princesses! 😉

  2. Alex Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

