I did it!

Uff! January 2009 is already gone. After the frenzy of the holidays, the happiness of watching inauguration day and the beautiful weather in SF, I am ready to blog again.

I don’t have too many resolutions for this year, I don’t usually do. But this year I want to document all the stuff I am creating. I am going to make a visual book of my crafts, sewings, designs, knitting, and so on. It’s going to be call I DID IT!, (as suggested by the Craftstylish notebook).

 

I did a lot since the year started, though. I started my new surface design class, and returned to dancing Afro-Haitian, Tango and Bellydance. I also started a new Yoga class… and I’ve been crafting too.!

 

My friend Andrea works for “Lesser Evil”, an all natural popcorn company in NYC (link). I helped her make bags out of their packaging so she can give them to customers and corporations in trade shows. They turned out to take a lot more time than we expected, but they turned out pretty cool. She was super happy, and me too! J She gave me a bottle of nice wine and a big box of COAL popcorn (chocolate covered) that is so good that I already ate half of it.

img_62401

img_6245

I also did a wall piece for my design class with the different fabrics that we dyed in class. The assignment was to make a piece inspired by nature and the environment, so I did a yin yang piece with a background that shows the colors of the sky to the ground and the lava underneath.

front wall piece

back wall piece

I also finally finished what I began two years ago in 2007 over the holidays. It never felt so cold in sf that I would be able to use it, that is why it was on the closet waiting to be assembled, but December was pretty cold. Everybody liked it, and nobody noticed that there are more bubbles on the right sleeve than on the left (mistakes happen people). I took the pattern from knitty.com

img_6072

I also sewed my first two commissioned skirts. Gibson Pearl came with me to buy some fabric for the winter student showcase, and she fell in love with some, so she bought it and I made her two skirts from it. The teal fabric wasn’t too cooperative, I have to admit.


img_6339

img_6407

I bought lots of fabrics when we were in LA for the holidays that I can’t wait to try on aprons. And my good friend Aya brought GORGEOUS prints from Japan too, so I want to make some placemates and napkins for the house. I don’t think I can make aprons to sell with these because they are very special for me, so I want them not to leave me 😉

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “I did it!”

  1. head snackmaster Says:

    the bags are all the rage! thanks for the help and inspiration.

  2. v12m Says:

    you are more than welcome! anytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

