Altered Mind 2

The belly is growing and growing! So, continuing with the inspiration I got from the New Dress a Day blog, and because of the need of new clothing I can actually fit in, I looked into the clothes in my “alterations drawer”  and I found this pair of pants that my neighbor did not want a while back and I kept because they are super punk. They are huge! But you know me and know that I do not throw anything even if at that time I have no idea what I am going to do with it, but something always ends up coming to my mind, sometimes in weeks, sometimes in years. It’s just a matter of time. And making more space in the closet 😉

rock 'n roll

Two of the reasons why I did not want to get rid of these pants is a) the plaid pattern is very rock ‘n roll, and b) the zipper detail. The zippers! What better idea that to take advantage of the zippers for my now ever growing belly! So I cut down the pants below the rise, ripped the side seams and joined them creating a skirt. And just as I sewed the dress with flowers, I added the top of a cami, creating two pleats in front and one in the back so that the belly will still have room to grow.

expandable dress

punky baby

What I like most about this dress is that after the pregnancy I will be able to close the zippers and continue using it.

zip up! zip down!

Actually, what I like most is that I’m having a maternity wardrobe mostly done by me 🙂 My Aunt Melissa from Chicago is sending me two boxes of clothes to alter. Can’t wait for them to arrive!

DIY pregnancy

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Altered Mind 2”

  1. elena daciuk Says:

    absolutely adorable! congratulations! i have no doubt that the little punky baby will be just as fashionable as mommy…

  2. barbe Says:

    OMG!! BABY!!!! you look adorable!

  3. v12m Says:

    aww… thank you Elena and Barbe!

Leave a Reply

